Comical

The house has inherited an amount of what I term ‘Dead Lady furniture’, which is ace, retro and oaky, but does make the place look grown-up. In an effort to combat it, balance old with new and inject a cheap splash of colour, I thought I’d wallpaper. My medium? Comics.

The first flush of enthusiasm you get in a new house was my main catalyst, but as the old paper had been ripped down in a fit of drunken tomfoolery, bare plaster walls acted as a sturdy incentive too.

That which stood before

Old wallpaper. Monstrous. 

The canvas.

The canvas.

A bargainous £8 will buy you many, many comics up at Forbidden Planet (have a look for the £1 bundles, sensibly limited to four per customer), a shop from which I must swiftly extract myself or risk spending hours and hours browsing the manga and graphic novels.

IMG_2816

…Unpick all the staples, pick out your favourite pages and colours…

IMG_2815

…cover your table with a bin bag (wallpaper tables are for pussies), get happy with a brush and start sticking the pages up to please your eye. Anything with a ‘kapow’, ‘kwoom’ or ‘nnnn!’ gets priority in my world.

There are all sort of hints and tips on the art of wallpapering but they don’t apply to comics. I found it most effective to smooth the pieces down with the ball of my hand – trying to get bubbles out with a sponge quickly starts to rub the ink off.

IMG_2840

The end result. It’s bold, but I think I like it.

IMG_2841

Tagged , , ,

2 thoughts on “Comical

  1. Guy Vesey says:

    I love it!! Am going to do the same. Though perhaps I’ll wait to leave Moscow first. Not sure my landlord will appreciate. Apparently there is now a paint you can use to turn your wall into a whiteboard? Chalk walls are cool in kitchens but too dark.

    Guy Vesey

    +7 968 876 9931 RF +44 7920 503 482 (wk)

Leave a Reply

