I (HEART) JET BLUE

“Your flight was yesterday, ma’am,” the clerk politely pointed out at JFK airport as I tried to check in for the flight to Colombia.

Balls.

Even my best helpless maiden-in-distress routine couldn’t persuade the [jolly friendly] staff to let me on for free or sexual favours. “S’more than my jobswurf.” I swindled, I pleaded, I begged, but all they could do was waive the change fee and just charge the difference in price – a fairly hefty $375. In the absence of alternatives, I put it on the plastic, wept inwardly and braced myself for a thrifty fortnight.

Jet Blue fly to Bogota via Orlando and the flight was pretty much flawless. I like to categorise the carrier as a low-cost, in the same bracket as Easy Jet and Ryanair. It was worlds apart from my recent Ryanair experience. The staff on the ground and onboard were super friendly and delivered humorous messages, but no sales barrage, over the tannoy; you are permitted one checked bag free of charge; you can buy a meal onboard but snacks and drinks are provided gratis (as many as you dare ask for); there are numerous TV, music and movie channels to entertain you, many free.

During the flight, preoccupied with my stupidity, I had decided that it wouldn’t hurt to get in touch with Jet Blue’s customer service and prostrate myself one last time. Popped them an email which included the lines “Pretty pretty please can I have it back? With a cherry on top? I would be your best ambassador. :)” and “Best wishes and bleating pleas”.

The reply.

“We can imagine your surprise when you realized you booked your flight to Bogotá El Dorado International Airport – (BOG) for the wrong day. We can imagine your dismay not to mention the big dent in the pocket book. The increase in fare of $375 would be a surprise and shock to anyone.

“Laura, I like your honesty and accepting responsibility that it was your error and you did not recognize you had made the error. Many people simply would have made excuses in order to get the difference refunded.”

And you know what? They made a one-off exception and refunded the dinero. Hoorah! What a super airline.

3 thoughts on “I (HEART) JET BLUE

  1. I just like the valuable info you supply to your articles.
    I’ll bookmark your blog and take a look at once more here frequently. I am moderately certain I will be told many new stuff proper here! Best of luck for the following!

  2. Heya i am for the first time here. I found this board and I in finding
    It really helpful & it helped me out much.

    I hope to provide one thing again and aid others like you helped me.

Leave a Reply

